Which Universities Does NSFAS Fund

By |

Which Universities Does NSFAS Fund

Which Universities Does NSFAS Fund

NSFAS partners with a wide range of South African public universities to guarantee that deserving students have access to higher education. NSFAS provides financial assistance to students enrolled in South Africa’s 26 public universities.
The National Student Financial Aid Scheme (NSFAS) is a South African government-funded financial aid scheme. Its principal goal is to give financial aid to students from low-income families so that they can attend and thrive in higher education. NSFAS provides loans and bursaries to qualified students pursuing qualifications at public universities and technical vocational education and training (TVET) institutions.

READ: Can You Withdraw NSFAS Money?

NSFAS Universities Application Eligibility Requirements

To qualify for NSFAS funding at Universities, students must meet certain eligibility criteria, including:

  • Citizenship in South Africa: In general, only South African citizens are eligible for NSFAS funding.
  • Academic Progress: Students must fulfill their respective institution’s educational progress requirements.
  • Prospective students must complete and submit the NSFAS application form by the timeframes specified.
  • Registration: NSFAS recipients must be enrolled in a full-time qualification at a public university or TVET college.
  • Documentation Requirements: Applicants must supply all needed documentation to support their applications.

How To Apply For NSFAS At Universities

Follow the detailed steps below to apply for National Student Financial Aid Scheme funding at Universities;

  • Go to www.nsfas.org.za and click on the ‘myNSFAS’ tab.
  • Create a myNSFAS account
  • Click on the ‘APPLY’ tab and complete the sections on the screen
  • Upload required supporting documents where applicable
  •  Click on ‘Submit’.

READ: Will NSFAS Fund Education In 2024/2025?

Documents Required to Apply For NSFAS Funding

NSFAS Applicants are required to upload and submit supporting documents along with the completed application form. The following documents are required;

  • Copy of student ID / Birth certificate
  • Copy of parent/s or guardian/ spouse ID
  • Smart card: both sides of card required
  • Proof of income (where applicable)
  • Persons living with disability (Disability Annexure A form)
  • An applicant who is recognised as a vulnerable child by the Department of Social Development must provide a completed Vulnerable Child Declaration form completed by a social worker
  • An applicant who has indicated that s/he has no family member details and or abridged birth certificate must complete the Declaration: Non-SASSA.

NSFAS Funded Universities

NSFAS provides funding to 26 universities across South Africa. The following universities are funded by NSFAS;

  • University of Cape Town
  • University of Pretoria
  • University of Witwatersrand
  • Stellenbosch University
  • University of KwaZulu-Natal
  • University of Johannesburg
  • University of the Western Cape
  • Rhodes University
  • Nelson Mandela University
  • North-West University

NB: This is not an exhaustive list, as NSFAS supports all public universities and TVET colleges. It should be noted, however, that the specifics of NSFAS funding, eligibility requirements, and application processes may change over time.

READ:  Will NSFAS Fund Me If I Pass 50% Of My Modules?

Contact NSFAS

Email: info@nsfas.org.za
Facebook: National Student Financial Aid Scheme
Twitter: @myNSFAS
Instagram: @myNSFAS
WhatsApp: +27 78 519 8006

NSFAS plays an essential part in making higher education available to students from low-income families. The program gives support to a wide range of South African universities and TVET colleges, ensuring that eligible students can pursue their educational goals. Visit the official website of NSFAS for more information.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *