How Many Modules Should I Pass For NSFAS 2024-2025?

By |

How Many Modules Should I Pass For NSFAS 2024-2025?

How Many Modules Should I Pass For NSFAS 2024-2025?

NSFAS is a government-funded initiative that helps financially disadvantaged students gain access to higher education. It covers a variety of tertiary education costs, including tuition, housing, and study supplies. NSFAS offers financial support in two forms: bursaries and loans. The bursary element of the money is not repaid, whilst the loan portion is repayable after graduation, but the conditions are often better than regular loans.

READ: How Do I Qualify For NSFAS Funding 2024/2025?

How Many Modules Should I Pass For NSFAS 2024-2025?

Students must achieve certain academic success requirements in order to continue receiving NSFAS assistance. These requirements exist to verify that recipients are making adequate academic progress toward the completion of their qualifications. You must pass a certain number of courses each semester or academic year to keep your NSFAS support.

In most cases, you must pass at least 50% of the modules or subjects for which you are registered in a particular semester or academic year. If you are registered for eight modules, for example, you must pass at least four of them. You must pass the following qualifications;

  • Undergraduate Qualifications Modules

NSFAS provides financial support for various undergraduate qualifications, ensuring that students from disadvantaged backgrounds can pursue their dreams. These qualifications encompass a broad spectrum of fields, including but not limited to:

i.  Bachelor’s Degrees: NSFAS funds bachelor’s degree programs across various disciplines such as Engineering, Medicine, Law, Social Sciences, Commerce, Humanities, and Natural sciences.

ii. Diploma Courses: Many diploma courses, including National Diplomas and Higher Certificates, are eligible for NSFAS funding. These programs are available in areas such as Business Management, Information Technology, Tourism, Hospitality, and Education.

iii. Higher Certificates: NSFAS also supports students pursuing higher certificate courses, which typically focus on specific skills or areas of expertise, such as Early Childhood Development, Marketing, Financial Management, and Computer Programming.

  • Postgraduate Qualifications

Although NSFAS largely focuses on undergraduate funding, postgraduate funding possibilities are scarce. NSFAS provides postgraduate scholarships in high-demand fields such as education, engineering, and natural and physical sciences. These scholarships are intended to develop high-potential students who are committed to research and innovation.

READ: Will NSFAS Fund Me for 5 Years?

How To Apply For NSFAS 2024/2025

Follow the steps below to apply online for NSFAS for the 2024-2025 academic year;

  • Go to and click on the ‘myNSFAS’ tab.
  • Create a myNSFAS account.
  • Click on the ‘APPLY’ tab.
  • Complete the sections on the screen.
  • Upload the required supporting documents.; such as ID Documents,
  • Click on the “Submit” button to finish the application.

Contact NSFAS

We are available to assist through the following channels:

  • Email:
  • Facebook: National Student Financial Aid Scheme
  • Twitter: @myNSFAS
  • Instagram: @myNSFAS
  • WhatsApp: +27 78 519 8006
  • USSD:*120*67327#

Visit the official website of NSFAS for more information.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *